Home > Games, Microsoft, Software, Technology > Cheating at FreeCell

Cheating at FreeCell

Ever since I discovered this game back in high school, I have been hooked on it and playing a couple of games each and every day. At first when I started playing FreeCell, I did not know what to do. I did not know you would have to press F2 for a game to start as usually when I play the games that come with Windows like Hearts, Solitaire, Minesweeper, Spider solitaire, and Pinball, the game has already been set and the computer waits for my first move. FreeCell actually doesn’t do this on default and I had a wonderful time looking at the in the middle of the window look from left to right as I dragged my mouse around in the game. At this point I still have not found out about the F2 process. When I did finally figure it out I saw all fifty-two cards arranged in piles. There were four spaces for cards on the top right and top left corner of the window. As I tried to figure out how to play this game, I discovered that the boxes on the top right side of the window are for the cards I set free and the ones on the top left hand side are basically the ones I put on probation. After looking at the arrangement of cards, I trivially though that this game was like Solitaire which basically is, you just have all the cards face up in front of you so you can arrange them in a descending, alternating colour pattern.

I managed to rack up a lot of games played over my first few months of playing the game. I played about 2000 games with a winning percentage of around a high 50%. Now after reformatting my computer, I have a long way to go playing 2000 games but my record right now is 100 winds and 58 losses at a 63% winning percentage. I have an 8 streak win and a 4 streak loss. I say, it is pretty good to have my win/lose ratio this high. Usually my win/lose ratio is around a 40% and then I manage to bring it up as I play more games.

Playing this game, I discovered a lot of neat tips and tricks to winning. I also discovered many cool cheats and stuff. While surfing on the internet, I managed to find some really cool things I did not know about FreeCell:

1. If you press Ctrl + Shift + F10 while playing a game you get a message that asks you to choose ‘Abort’ to Win, ‘Retry’ to Lose, or ‘Ignore’ to cancel. If you choose ‘Abort’ and then move a card, all the cards quickly pile up into their free cells and you win the game.

2. If you want to select a game, press F3. The neat thing is, what happens if you enter a negative number? If you type in ‘-1’ you get a game that, well, you can not possibly win. All the cards are piled up in eight rows just like always but they are piled up in a way that will just make you laugh.

3. When selecting a new game, type in ‘-2’ and you’ll get an arrangement similar to ‘-1’ but the cards are arranged in a different order, and you might be able to win this one if you think really hard about it.

4. If you don’t like your stats, you can always change them. You’ll just have to play a lot more games and make sure you win all of them. OR you can type in ‘regedit’ in the ‘Run…’ command from the Start menu in Windows and with the window that pops up, go to this location: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Applets\Freecell
From this point you can edit all of your stats to make it look impressive, but you’re gonna have to know how to convert to Hexadecimal first. Don’t worry, it is not that hard.

So far these are all the cheats that I have found so far. There could be more, but I have not found them yet. With these cheats, its pretty much GG for FreeCell.

  1. September 1, 2008 at 08:40

    To like me this post…

  2. September 2, 2008 at 14:48

    I love freecell, too
    I think you can maintain your freecell records by using online freecell.
    I recommend you Freecell Project site where the address is

    http://freecellproject.com

    Have a good day~

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

