Posts Tagged ‘Death Magnetic’

Death Magnetic Leaked

September 3, 2008 Leave a comment

So a few hours ago, or so I have read Metallica’s new album ‘Death Magnetic’ was leaked onto the internet. The record was due to be sold on Septmber 12 2008 but a French music store a couple of copies to patrons and one posted it on Blabbermouth with pictures of the cover album and disc.

The track listing of Death Magnetic includes:

01. That Was Just Your Life
02. The End Of The Line
03. Broken, Beat & Scarred
04. The Day That Never Comes
05. All Nightmare Long
06. Cyanide
07. The Unforgiven III
08. The Judas Kiss
09. Suicide & Redemption
10. My Apocalypse

Surprisingly, the band is not worried about the album being leaked out onto the internet. They believe in the long run, record sales will not be affected by this leak. It is interesting in what Lars Ulrich had to say about it as after the controversy Metallica created against Napster and P2P, “Listen, we’re ten days from release. I mean, from here, we’re golden. If this thing leaks all over the world today or tomorrow, happy days. Happy days. Trust me. Ten days out and it hasn’t quote-unquote fallen off the truck yet? Everybody’s happy. It’s 2008 and it’s part of how it is these days, so it’s fine. We’re happy.”

No one would expect them to be comfortable with this leak, but there is no point now in worrying is there?

The leaked album is already all over the internet on fan sites and such and no doubtingly on the torrent websites with massive amounts of activity.
Well lets just hope that the album is good and people will actually buy it and say it was worth the money.


Guitar Hero: World Tour with Metallica?

July 15, 2008 Leave a comment

I would not really know how Activision would be able to compete with Red Octane’s ‘Rock Band’ but I guess they would have to go with the flow as since they are presenting their new Rock Band-esque instruments.  Included with the guitar which I believe has playback so people won’t have to buy the guitar with the whole package will be the drum set and the microphone.  From Microsoft’s E3 conference today, they announced that the drum set will be wireless which will be kick ass!  It looks a lot more realistic than the Rock Band one as there are actually cymbals on top of the drums and the tom toms.  The new guitar is different.  I believe it is a Gibson guitar, it is the same model as the Ibanez S/SA series, but the stock looks like a Rickenbacker stock which is weird because that stock is usually made with banjoes. I don’t think it is an Ibanez because Guitar Hero only carries Gibson Guitars but after the lawsuit Gibson filed, I’m not sure…maybe a PRS guitar but haven’t seen any PRS models like that.  It could be a bass guitar model that they showed at the conference though.

A really neat feature that is coming with the World Tour set is the ability to have an eight player guitar battle or co-op mode against people online.  It could get crowded on the screen, but still, it is going to be fun.  The best feature presented is now the user has the ability to create and edit their own music which I am confused about.  I’m pretty sure they can only create their own signature layout for each song, but not actually create and record an actual song.  It would be the shit though if the game allowed the user to do so.  Along with the XBox Live feature and PS3 one, I don’t know what it is called, their will be the new GHTunes distribution system that will allow the people to share their own creations.

The best announcement from the Microsoft conference at E3 was the content that Guitar Hero will have at launch.  R.E.M (of all bands) have actually signed a contract which will allow XBox users to download an R.E.M package of their hit songs and such to be played in World Tour. Not only that, but they will have three new songs included in their package from their new album, ‘Accelerate’ which will be pretty cool to listen to if you are an R.E.M fan (I am not a fan though).

The very best announcement for World Tour was that Van Halen, and the Eagles have exclusively lent their songs to be played and listened to for the game and, AND SOMETHING I NEVER WOULD HAVE IMAGINED, Metallica will have their new album, ‘Death Magnetic’ available on XBox Live for people to download and play to coinciding to its release in stores. I can not believe that Metallica are actually doing this.  They really have thought hard about the fan backlash from the Napster controversy.  I hope the new songs will be good, much better than St. Anger, and it will be THE SHIT to play on Guitar Hero. Sweet deal, I can not wait until it comes out.